A Real Wedding

These days weddings (Hindus/Muslims from South Asia) in North America have become an emulation of those seen on bollywood movies. Its true essence is lost amongst the glamour, glitz, and fake galore. It often has the same formula, which is a series of functions (usually 3-5 separate events). Depending on the culture/couple’s preference the wedding events take place over a year starting with the engagement, sangeet, mehendi, bridal shower, bachelor/bachelorette party and finally the wedding ritual. The bridal shower and the bachelor/ette parties are a western influence. By the end of it all, the parents are broke, bride transforms into bridezilla, groom starts to have regrets, friendships are strained and add to that a whole bunch of family drama.

The main wedding event itself has the same overplayed program…bride & groom walk into the hall with a cheesy song playing in the background, touchy speeches are said, cake cutting ceremony, food is indulged, pictures taken, friends perform to bollywood songs, and finally the floor is open for dancing with random aunties and uncles.

It’s the same thing over and over again and no one has the gall to break from the norm. What irritates me the most is the fact that it’s all just a show put on to impress people. ‘Look at how much money we borrowed to entertain you guys for one night, now you better come dressed fancily with fat envelopes to bless us!’ Such hypocrisy I tell you! Now, I’m not trying to insult anyone that are happy to hold such ceremonies. To each their own, live and let live are policies I lead my life by. The above rant is merely based on my observations of all the wedding events I’ve been to in my adult life. I just can’t fathom the amount of money that is spent to put on a charade for two faced people that will always find something to complain about.

I know what you all are thinking. ‘Look at her saying all such criticisms, she thinks she’s better than us haan? Let’s see how she holds her wedding, then we’ll have the last laugh! ‘

I actually didn’t have to wait until my wedding to show how it should be done. I recently went to one of my uni friend’s wedding reception and they were the first ones that had the guts to break free from the bollywood type fake fiestas.

Their actual wedding ritual took place in India three months ago. This was a small reception for friends and co-workers. At max there was about 100 people in attendance, it was a cozy event. Yes there were the usual things you’d find in fake fiestas I mentioned above: DJ, photographer, an Emcee, FOOD, cake, speeches, dancing. However, the entire atmosphere was none like I’ve experienced before. There was no pretentiousness! No one cared how much the bride’s outfit cost, how much gold she’s wearing, what designer suit the groom was wearing, how many tiers the cake had, no lavish $10k backdrops, useless $30/table centre pieces. The attendees did not care for such details. As a group, we were genuinely happy for the couple. We were happy to see that they truly loved one another and wished them whole heartedly on this wonderful journey they were embarking on as husband and wife.

Along with the newlyweds, the guests had a blast. They all left that night with reinstated hope that true love does indeed exist. I, for the first time ever left a wedding event thinking ‘This is exactly how I want my wedding to be! ‘

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kabeer Nawaz ˚͜˚
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 14:28:48

    woop asian wedding rant! agree with ya ofc. I rant about them too lol.

    Reply

  2. khansword
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 15:12:50

    lol all along I’ve been ranting in my head, finallly decided to type it up 😛

    Reply

  3. eva626
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 14:37:05

    lol..great post!!! i agree.!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

