Fasting Fatigue

Today’s the third day of fasting for me. In the past, first day has been really hard to endure and the rest is usually a breeze. This is the first year I am working full time, commuting whilst fasting.  So I was a bit apprehensive as to how I would be able to cope with it. The first day was a Friday, which I was happy about as I can use the weekend to allow my body recover from first day fasting exhaustion. I think I got really excited on the first day and overexerted myself.

I first felt my body reacting to the fast while I was at the Masjid for Friday prayers. It wasn’t really the hunger, but more the lack of sleep and tiredness as a result. As soon as I went home I crashed on my bed and had a 3 hour nap. My mom had cooked some scrumptious food for Iftaar and I swear food had never tasted this good, EVER! No one will fully appreciate food until they had to be deprived of it, which is one of the purposes of fasting. To comprehend how much of a luxury it is to have 3 meals a day. After ingesting the food went to the Masjid for Taraweeh (Night prayers during Ramadan). Got back home around 12:45 and slept for few hours only to wake up again at 3:15 am for Suhoor (meal before sunrise). Then went back to bed around 5 ish and was woken up by the alarm 12:30PM and I couldn’t get up. I’ve never felt soo lifeless, weak and fragile. I could feel my body breaking down the sugar stored in fat in order to keep functioning. Spent most of the remaining day in bed hoping that lying down will somehow increase the energy level in me. I failed miserably! I did not accomplish much yesterday. After breaking fast I felt a bit better. However still went back to lie on my bed for about 20 minutes before mustering up the energy to get myself to the Masjid for Taraweeh. I didn’t think I could last the entire but I did manage to only thanks to the support of my bf. Sadly, today wasn’t all that better. Woke up around 3PM.. :$ and still felt very slothy, so slothed around a bit more. It was only around 5PM that I properly got myself out of bed and was a bit active, the most I’ve been all weekend. I realized it was all the sleeping that made me feel like a sloth. Plus, its mind over matter right?  We shall find out tomorrow when I will be functioning on 3 hours of sleep 😀 !

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Priyanka Gupta
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 18:01:50

    kudos to you man – I don’t know how you do it – I cant even imagine it !!! and its the hottest and longest days now in toronto
    P.s. amazing job at the blog – I enjoyed reading it 🙂 I have been wanting to do the same for so long but never got around to executing it – so good job!

    Reply

    • khansword
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 20:17:50

      Haha thanks Priyanka 😀

      Its hard in the beginning but then our body gets used to it. Also it flies by soo quickly .. 30 days seems long but trust me it isn’t :D.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

